full
border
#666666
http://legacy.utsu.ca/wp-content/themes/zap-installable/
http://legacy.utsu.ca/
#00B7EB
style2
(416) 978-4911 | ext. 221
12 Hart House Circle

UTSU Committees

Terms of Membership

There shall be two terms of membership for Union Committees – the Summer session and the Fall/Winter session. The Board must hold elections for Committee membership at the May or June Meeting, and at the Board meeting in November or once the Fall elections results are ratified.

Bursary and Grants Committee

MANDATE

The Bursary & Grants Committee is responsible for overseeing the book bursary application process, reviewing applications and making allocations, and assisting in promoting the service to the campus. The Committee is also responsible for revising the Union’s book bursary policy. The Vice-President Internal is responsible for ensuring that applications are available to members online and/or through the Union office. The Vice-President Internal reviews the applications submitted, presents them to Committee members, who determine allocations that are recommended to the Board of Directors for ratification.

MEMBERSHIP

Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Ryan Gomes | vpinternal@utsu.ca
Peter Zhang | Peter@utsu.ca
Emily Xu | Emily@utsu.ca
Khrystyna Zhuk | Khrystyna@utsu.ca

Budget Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws & policies, the Budget Committee is responsible for preparing and recommending the preliminary, operating and revised budgets for approval to the Board of Directors, on the advice and recommendation of the Vice-President Internal & Services and the mandate developed by the Planning and Budget Framework. The Committee will have oversight of the planning and budget activities, including, but not limited to, the short-term and long-term financial planning of the Union.

MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Budget Committee may not include the Associate Vice-Presidents or Executives of the Union, with the exception of the President and Vice-President Internal & Services 

Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Ryan Gomes | vpinternal@utsu.ca
Khrystyna Zhuk | Khrystyna@utsu.ca
Emerson Calcada | Emerson@utsu.ca
Abdulla Omari | Abdulla@utsu.ca
Mathias Memmel | Mathias@utsu.ca
Daman Singh | Daman@utsu.ca

Elections and Referenda Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the Elections and Referenda Committee will oversee the Union’s elections and referenda in accordance to its own policy and procedures. The Committee will make recommendations to the Board of Directors on revisions to the Elections Procedure Code and the Charter for Referenda. It is also responsible for recommending to the Board of Directors election and referenda dates.

MEMBERSHIP

Vere-Marie Khan (chair) | vpua@utsu.ca
Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Jess Afonso | Jessica@utsu.ca
Peter Zhang | Peter@utsu.ca
Raffi Dergalstanian | Raffi@utsu.ca

 

Executive Review Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the Executive Review Committee will meet from time to time or convene to hear complaints brought forward by the Board of Directors regarding the performance and/or behaviour of an Executive. When a complaint is brought forward, the Committee should investigate and make recommendation on the appropriate course of actions.

The XRC can be contacted at xrc@utsu.ca.

MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Executive Review Committee is restricted to the Associate Vice-Presidents or Executives of the Union.

Nicholas Grant | nicholas@utsu.ca
Ifrah Farah | ifrah@utsu.ca
Mathias Memmel | mathias@utsu.ca
Farah Noori | farah@utmsu.ca
Abdulla Omari | abdulla@utmsu.ca
Steve Warner | steve@utsu.ca

Organizational Development and Services Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the Organization Development and Services Committee is responsible for the management, operations, and oversight of the services of the Union both at the St. George and UTM campuses. The committee will recommend the services budget to the Budget Committee, operational policy for the services to the Policy & Procedures Committee, and oversee the short and long term planning of the Services of the Union.

MEMBERSHIP

Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Ryan Gomes | vpinternal@utsu.ca
Vere-Marie Khan | vpua@utsu.ca
Anastasia Harovska | Anastasia@utsu.ca
Auni Ahsan | Auni@utsu.ca
Nia-Imara Barberousse | Nia@utsu.ca
Sana Chishti | Sana@utsu.ca

Policy and Procedures Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the Policy & Procedures Committee will meet from time to time or convene to discuss policy of Union and present a recommendation to the Board of Directors.

The Policy and Procedures Committee was re-struck on November 28th with a new membership.

MEMBERSHIP

Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Ryan Gomes | vpinternal@utsu.ca
Ebi Agbeyegbe | president@utmsu.ca
Khrystyna Zhuk | Khrystyna@utsu.ca
Auni Ahsan | Auni@utsu.ca
Raffi Dergalstanian | Raffi@utsu.ca
Abdulla Omari | Abdulla@utsu.ca

Professional Faculties Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the Professional Faculties Committee will meet from time to time and convene to discuss issues affecting professional faculty members. The Committee is responsible for discussing how to better deliver services and campaigns to the professional faculties.

MEMBERSHIP

Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Vere-Marie Khan | vpua@utsu.ca
Carlos Fiel | Carlos@utsu.ca
Nia-Imara Barberousse | Nia@utsu.ca
Josh Calafato | JoshuaC@utsu.ca
Emily Xu | Emily@utsu.ca
Ilan Zimner | Ilan@utsu.ca
Rebecca Jackson | Rebecca@utsu.ca
Mathias Memmel | Mathias@utsu.ca
Caitlin Pascoe | Caitlin@utsu.ca
Riaz Sayani-Mulji | Riaz@utsu.ca
Nasrin Ghafoori | Nasrin@utsu.ca
Jason Lo | Jason@utsu.ca
Ernest Ralph Manalo | Ernest@utsu.ca
John Deepak Sundara | John@utsu.ca
Adriana Menghi | Adriana@utsu.ca

Student Accessibility Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the Student Accessibility Committee will meet from time to time and convene to discuss accessibility issues and projects on campus.

MEMBERSHIP

Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Ebi Agbeyegbe | president@utmsu.ca
Sania Khan | vpequity@utsu.ca
Ryan Hume | RyanH@utsu.ca
Falhad Mohamoud | Falhad@utsu.ca
Vacant

Saint George Clubs Committee

MANDATE

In addition to the mandate in the Union’s Bylaws and policies, the St. George Clubs Committee is responsible for overseeing recognition of Union clubs, reviewing and making allocations to clubs funding requests and special projects requests and, and assisting in promoting the clubs to the campus. The Committee is also responsible for revising the Union’s clubs’ policy.

MEMBERSHIP

Alessia Rodriguez (chair) | vpcampuslife@utsu.ca
Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Ryan Gomes | vpinternal@utsu.ca
Nathan Gibson | Nathan@utsu.ca
Carlos Fiel | Carlos@utsu.ca
Ifrah Farah | Ifrah@utsu.ca
Danielle Sardella | DanielleS@utsu.ca

Community Members:

(To be determined at the next Clubs Committee Meeting)

Community members are selected using the following method. At the beginning of the term, the Vice-President Campus Life is responsible for advertising the three (3) community memberships available. The Vice-President Campus Life makes a reasonable effort to contact campus clubs and conduct a call out for nominations. The Vice-President Campus reviews the applications submitted, suggests Committee members to the Clubs Committee, which recommends them to the Board of Directors for ratification.

Ad-Hoc CFS Committee

MEMBERSHIP

Ryan Gomes | vpinternal@utsu.ca
Jasmine Denike | vpexternal@utsu.ca
Ben Coleman | president@utsu.ca
Daman Singh | Daman@utsu.ca
Josh Calafato | JoshuaC@utsu.ca
Mathias Memmel | Mathias@utsu.ca
Nicholas Grant | Nicholas@utsu.ca
Khrystyna Zhuk | Khrystyna@utsu.ca

FOUNDING MOTION

Whereas the University of Toronto Student’s Union is a member student union (Local 98) of the Canadian Federation of Students;

Whereas St. George members of the UTSU are recognized as members of Local 98 and Mississauga members of the UTSU are recognized as members of Local 109 of the Federation;

Whereas the Union must always act in the best interest of its members;

Whereas members have raised concerns about the relationship between the Union and the Federation;

Whereas the relationship between the Union and the Federation has not been evaluated in several years;

Whereas the Union pays roughly $700,000 – $750,000 CAD in fees to the Canadian Federation of Students each year;

Be it resolved that the Board strikes an ad-hoc CFS Committee, co-chaired by the President, the Vice-President Internal & Services, and the Vice- President External for the 2015-2016 term;

Be it further resolved that one director from division I, one director from division II, and three additional directors from division I or II be elected by and from the Board of Directors to serve on the 2015-2016 AD-HOC CFS COMMITTEE.

Be it further resolved that ex-officio speaking rights be extended to the following:

a. All division I and division II directors
b. The heads of all college student societies
c. The heads of all professional faculty student societies
d. A representative from the Arts & Science Student Union

Be it further resolved that this committee will investigate the relationship between the Union and the Federation and release a report that:

a. Outlines the overall impact of the Federation upon Local 98’s members
b. Analyzes the various criticisms and accomplishments of the Federation across the country
c. Is released to the board prior to the end of the 2015-2016 Board of Directors term

default
Loading posts...
link_magnifier
#5C5C5C
on
loading
off